How I Jumped into Solo Travel

     A few years back the company I worked for went bankrupt and I was out of a job and pretty bummed. I needed something  to clear my mind and spirit, but what I didn’t know.

A friend showed up within a few days and suggested we take a vacation, he had two airline round trip  vouchers. We decided to head south to Mexico. This sounded great!

We made our reservations and I was ready to go. The day came to meet at the airport. My friend never showed up and didn’t answer his phone. I had never gone solo on a trip out of the country, that’s when the anxiety set in. I was short of being terrified not knowing what to do or what might happen.

I managed to board the plane and the free rum and coke did help me relax. We landed and I waved down a taxi down to take me to the hotel. By this time things started changing, my unexpected solo trip soon began to flow. I stood out as a solo traveler and this brought attention and conversation from others, my comfort zone sored.

In no time I was having the time of my life, being invited by others to join them in activities and being questioned on why I was travelling alone and previous places I had travelled to.

Even when I went out alone my new born confidence led me to conversations with the locals and of course the art of bargaining for merchandise in the local market. Going to a restaurant alone was no longer an anxiety filled experience.  And once again, I stood out and was approached by other travellers eager to buy me a drink and listen to my stories.

When it came time to leave, I felt like I had just gotten there and wanted to stay longer. I reluctantly boarded the plane to depart. After arriving back home, I discovered my friend had set me up from the beginning for this solo trip. I felt no ill will but was glad he did.  My eye’s and confidence level had been opened to a new world of adventure I had never experienced before. I’ve traveled solo ever since.

How did you make the Jump into Solo or Adventure Traveling?

Categories: Solo Travel

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “How I Jumped into Solo Travel

  1. Joany

    Wow Kevin, it’s amazing..I’m so happy for you,,for what you’ve become and for who you will be..This site is wonderfully created and I felt your desire on creating this. Continue doing things that will make you happy and things that can boost the confidence that you have. I’m glad that someone I’ve known has traveled different parts of the world..I am so Proud of you:)

  2. Mandy

    This website looks great, hope to read more 🙂

  3. Travel and Adventure are my passion and I usually travel Solo which adds to the Adventure. I love to visit other countries, learn their culture, meet the people and intake the environment. Nothing so frees my mind than this and allows my Journey to continue through the school of Life Experiences.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

